Miha - Readings

2020 - Year A 2021 - Year B 2019 - Year C
Sun, 27 Dec
Sun, 20 Dec
Sun, 13 Dec
Sun, 06 Dec
Sun, 29 Nov
Sun, 22 Nov
Sun, 15 Nov
Sun, 08 Nov
Sun, 01 Nov
Sun, 25 Oct
Sun, 18 Oct
Sun, 11 Oct
Sun, 04 Oct
Sun, 27 Sep
Sun, 20 Sep
Sun, 13 Sep
Sun, 06 Sep
Sun, 30 Aug
Sun, 23 Aug
Sun, 16 Aug
Sun, 09 Aug
Sun, 02 Aug
Sun, 26 Jul
Sun, 19 Jul
Sun, 12 Jul
Sun, 05 Jul
Sun, 28 Jun
Sun, 21 Jun
Sun, 14 Jun
Sun, 07 Jun
Sun, 31 May - Pentecost
Sun, 24 May - Ascension
Sun, 17 May - 6 Easter
Sun, 10 May - 5 Easter
Sun, 03 May - 4 Easter
Sun, 26 Apr - 3 Easter
Sun, 19 Apr - 2 Easter
Sun, 12 Apr - 1 Easter
Fri, 10 Apr - Good Friday
Thu, 09 Apr - Holy Thursday
Sun, 05 Apr - Palm Sunday
Sun, 29 Mar - 5 Lent
Sun, 22 Mar - 4 Lent
Sun, 15 Mar - 3 Lent
Sun, 08 Mar - 2 Lent
Sun, 01 Mar - 1 Lent
Sun, 23 Feb - 7 Ordinary
Sun, 16 Feb - 6 Ordinary
Sun, 09 Feb - 5 Ordinary
Sun, 02 Feb - 4 Ordinary
Sun, 26 Jan - 3 Ordinary
Sun, 19 Jan - 2 Ordinary
Sun, 12 Jan - Baptism
Sun, 05 Jan - Epiphany
+++ 25-Ordinary
24-Ordinary
23-Ordinary
22-Ordinary
21-Ordinary
20-Ordinary
19-Ordinary
18-Ordinary
17-Ordinary
16-Ordinary
15-Ordinary
14-Ordinary
13-Ordinary
12-CorpusChristi
11-Trinity
10-Pentecost
09-Ascension
06-Easter
05-Easter
04-Easter
03-Easter
02-Easter
01-Easter

The Māori text used is taken from the translation of Holy Scripture Readings made by Pā Hoane Papita (Father John Baptist Becker, pioneer Mill Hill man who arrived in NZ in 1886). He gained a good knowledge of reo Māori in his first missions around the Bay of Plenty among Te Arawa. Later he moved to Tai Tokerau where he always used his Māori texts at Mass. Remember in those days the actual texts were spoken aloud in Latin.

The priest raced through the Latin as fast as he could and then after the Gospel turned round to the congregation and ascended the pulpit and read a translation in the language the local people could understand. This was the norm. I was told by kaumātua that they would all share in a discussion in reo Māori with Pā Hoane after the Mass. Eventually the whole New Testament was completed and also a summary of the Kawenata Tawhito. Father Wientjes (Pā Henare) from Rotorua came north to help prepare the text for printing. This was taken to Europe and printed and bound in Turnhout, Belgium. The Typesetters were so exact - even though they did not know Māori - that no misprints have been discovered.

The addition of macrons to indicate lengthened vowels was made by myself (Pa Mikaere). I was well trained in the time of Professor Bruce Biggs at Auckland University (1960s) – he insisted on the use of double vowels to indicate length. Macrons were difficult to make on an ordinary typewriter. It was a good discipline to learn to mark the lengthened vowels in that way, although it looked horrible e.g. OOPOOTIKI.

Ka nui tēnei. Arohanui

Pā Mick Ryan.